2019 RSE Foundation Scholarship Awards

The RSE Foundation awarded the 2019 Frank W. Becker and Rudy C. Bergfield Scholarships to junior Joseph Stillo ’21 (Manasquan, NJ) and senior Jake Hodgson ’20 (Bend, OR), respectively.  Stillo is a dual major, aeronautical and mechanical, whose House activities included being pledge class advisor and Junior Member treasurer.  Hodgson is majoring in biomedical engineering and has held multiple house office including House president and recruitment chair. 

The Frank W. Becker ‘83 Scholarship was first awarded in 1987 to memorialize RSE alumnus Frank W. Becker after being established by his pledge class.  This award recognizes an outstanding junior for their contributions to the House. 

The Rudolph C. Bergfield ’49 Scholarship was inaugurated in the fall of 2009, as a result of a generous donation from RSE alumnus, Rudy C. Bergfield.  This award typically recognizes a senior who has made significant leadership contributions to the House. 

These scholarship funds are managed for perpetuity and in recent years, when supplemented with generous donations, have resulted in annual awards of $3,500 per scholarship.  As the assets funding these scholarships are owned by the RSE Foundation, the Foundation has more flexibility in determining worthy recipients. The support of our donors is very much appreciated.

RPI/RSE scholarships were not awarded this year. RPI has informed us that the scholarship fund is “underwater” and essentially no money is available. The RSE Foundation is in discussion with RPI to better understand this situation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *